Bettie Award


Important Dates

February 3, 2020 • Entry deadline
February 13, 2020 • Bettie Award Finalists announced via Facebook
February 27, 2020 • Deadline for artwork to be delivered to the Delaplaine
March 7, 2020 • Bettie Award Winner announced at the exhibit reception at 2:30 p.m. (artists must attend)
April 24, 2020 • Last day to vote for People’s Choice
April 27-May 3, 2020 • Artwork pick-up

Click the image below to view a printable PDF of the Bettie Award brochure.

About the Bettie Award Program

Bettie Delaplaine was a lifelong supporter of the arts in Frederick County, Maryland. Her strong belief in the importance of the arts in our community, and the importance of supporting young emerging artists, inspired The Delaplaine Arts Center to create the Elizabeth Barker Delaplaine Award for Young Artists in her honor. The award program is an annual event run in March, nationally recognized as Youth Art Month.

The program has several goals:

  • To help young artists gain experience in submitting their own artwork for review and exhibition.
  • To provide an experience of having their artwork judged and understand the importance of presentation.
  • To provide an accomplishment that can be added to college, art school, or professional applications.

Prize money for the Bettie Award is sponsored in part by a generous gift from the Frederick County Art Association.

Application Guidelines

Artists residing or attending school in Frederick County, Maryland in grades 9-12 are invited to apply for this award. There is no application fee.

Applications must be submitted by February 3, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. Teachers: PLEASE encourage your students to complete the submission process on their own.

Submitted artwork:

  • Must have been created by the applicant within the past year.
  • Must not measure more than 5ft. in any direction.
  • Can be in any medium.

IMPORTANT: Artists who are selected as finalists are required to properly prepare their artwork for exhibit installation. Judges consider presentation an important factor when selecting the grand prize, and will not award the prize to artwork that is incomplete or poorly presented, regardless of its artistic merit.

Application process:

  • Artists must enter their artwork through the online EntryThingy portal.
  • In order to access EntryThingy, artists must first create a login and password.
  • Only one submission per artist will be accepted.

For a PDF with step-by-step instructions about how to use EntryThingy, click here.

Guidelines and dates are subject to change. For questions about the guidelines or the online application process, contact the Community Outreach Programs Manager.

Selection and Awards

Bettie Award judges will select finalists based on the following criteria:

  • Originality
  • Composition
  • Success in communicating its message
  • Creativity
  • Presentation (second round judging)

A first round jury of Delaplaine Arts Center instructors will review the submissions and select at least 10 artists, to be named Bettie Award Finalists. Selected artworks must be delivered to the Delaplaine by February 27, 2020 for an exhibit that will take place March 7 – April 24, 2020. 

A separate, second-round jury of Delaplaine instructors will select one artwork from among the finalists, to be named the 2020 Bettie Award Winner. The Bettie Award Winner will receive $1,000. The other finalists will each receive $100. All finalists are expected to attend the award presentation and exhibit reception on Saturday, March 7, 2020 at 2:30 p.m.

The award-winning entry will be featured in an article in the summer 2020 issue of Delaplaine Arts magazine, distributed throughout the region.

Visitors will be invited to vote for their favorite work of art from among the Bettie Award Finalists throughout the duration of the exhibition. The artwork that receives the most votes will be named the 2020 People’s Choice Winner. The People’s Choice Winner will receive $250.


Past Award Winners

2019 Bettie Award Winner
Colleen Avila • American Boy, oil on canvas

FCAA president Rena Larkin, Colleen Avila, and Delaplaine CEO Catherine Moreland

FCAA president Rena Larkin, Colleen Avila, and Delaplaine CEO Catherine Moreland

2018 Bettie Award Winner
Caleb Spencer • Self Portrait, photography

2017 Bettie Award Winner
Maggie Kirkpatrick • The Search, photography

2016 Bettie Award Winner
Megan Werner • Rockstar Energy, sculpture

2015 Bettie Award Winner
Kate Kinley • To Find the Meaning of It, photography

Support programs for young artists like the Bettie Awards!
The Art of Giving