About the Exhibition

The Delaplaine’s National Juried Exhibition is an annual show featuring works in a variety of media by artists from around the region and nation. All media are eligible, including but not limited to: painting, printmaking, photography, ceramics, drawing, installation, and sculpture.

Important Dates

June 2, 2020 • Deadline for delivery of accepted works
May 2June 28, 2020 • Virtual exhibition – ONLINE
June 15–28, 2020 • Physical exhibition
May 2, 2020 • Art Matters juror’s talk (2 pm) ONLINE

About the 2020 Juror

2020 NJE juror Noah Smalls; Photo courtesy of Jessica Smolinski.

Noah Smalls is the Director of Exhibitions and Collections Management at the Williams College Museum of Art in Massachusetts, as well as Gallery Director of the Upper Darby Art Gallery and Rush Arts Gallery in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He has acted as design consultant and independent curator for numerous galleries and museums across the U.S. His mission: “To contribute to the ongoing transition of the museum field into one offering broader educational opportunities and expanding social impact.”

2020 National Juried Exhibition Award Winners 


Untitled (Black series #3) by Douglas Zaruba (Hagerstown, Maryland)



How Fast Must We Go to Stop Time? by Juliet Drake Hossain (Frederick, Maryland)



Re-Education Camp (Zai Jiaoyu Ying) by Iris Posner (Silver Spring, Maryland)


Honorable Mention

Before the Rush by Rosa Leff (Baltimore, Maryland)


List of Accepted Works

Oluwatobi Adewumi (McNeil, Arkansas), Fierce

Esperanza Alzona (Frederick, Maryland), Falling Upward

Christine Baum (Kings Park, New York), Ripple

Aaron Bleidt (Fayetteville, Arkansas), Hammer and Nail

Marylou Bono (Montgomery Village, Maryland), Linear Mauve

Kay Campbell (Woodbine, Maryland), From the Sea

Kimberly Cochrane (Hagerstown, Maryland), Time Is All They Had

Robert Cohen (Rockville, Maryland), Journey

Karen Commings (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania), The Walking

Karen Commings (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania), It’s Almost Over

Monique Cucchi (Arlington, Virginia), Nevertheless

Stephen Delaney (Middleton, Massachusetts), The Gateway

Donald Depuydt (Leesburg, Virginia), Big Show

Steven Dobbin (Mount Airy, Maryland), An Awful Noise

Steven Dobbin (Mount Airy, Maryland), Workingman Collective

Tom Dorsz (Frederick, Maryland), Nishiki Goi Pond

Sandra Edmonson (Potomac, Maryland), Canal View 1450

Luc Fiedler (Mount Airy, Maryland), Calibrating Time

Christopher Fowler (Point of Rocks, Maryland), Bibliotek

Lee Goodwin (Potomac, Maryland), August Night at the Montgomery Fair

Geoff Grant (Fairfield, Pennsylvania), The Lynching Memorial, Montgomery, AL

Christina Guercio (Ellicott City, Maryland), Moon Ripening

Jim Haller (Purcellville, Virginia), After Darger

Jim Haller (Purcellville, Virginia), Side Effects

David Harris (Washington, District of Columbia), Thorny Issues

Kesra Hoffman (Middletown, Maryland), Morning Melody, East of the Cabin, MD

Juliet Hossain (Frederick, Maryland), How Fast Must We Go to Stop Time?

Pam Hudson (South Wellfleet, Massachusetts), Kitchen Table

June Jarkey (Middletown, Maryland), Fractured by Time

June Jarkey (Middletown, Maryland), White Shed in Snow

Rebecca Grace Jones (Shepherdstown, West Virginia), Untitled #5277

Kim Klabe (Rehoboth, Delaware), Daring Escape

Deborah LaCroix (Washington, District of Columbia), Undercurrent

Lusmerlin (Frederick, Maryland), Fish Market

Catherine Leberg (Baltimore, Maryland), Empathy Artifact

Jin Lee (Riva, Maryland), Bristle

Rosa Leff (Baltimore, Maryland), Before The Rush

Rosa Leff (Baltimore, Maryland), IMHO

Destiny Lewis (Rosedale, Maryland), Home With You

Jon Lundak (White Marsh, Maryland), Winglets

Dave Magyar (Middletown, Delaware), Oblique

Zdeno Mayercak (Ijamsville, Maryland), Untitled

Corinne McAuley (Surprise, Arizona), Feather

Lisa McDonald (Hagerstown, Maryland), Descansando Durante la Protesta Laboral (Labor Protest), Oaxaca, Mexico

Angie Meche Kilcullen (Kensington, Maryland), The Angel in Me

Trace Miller (Towson, Maryland), Color Riot

Yeji Moon (New York, New York), The City Island 5

Yeji Moon (New York, New York), The City

Dave Moreland (Smithsburg, Maryland), Ashoka – Pillar of Buddha Light

Dave Moreland (Smithsburg, Maryland), Dialectic Self-Portrait

Paul Murray (Jamestown, Rhode Island), Enormity

Xander Opiyo (Bear, Delaware), Aethere

Sookkyung Park (Laurel, Maryland), The Ebb & Tide

Wesley Pastorfield (Union Bridge, Maryland), Portrait of the Artist as Muse

Kristina Penhoet (Washington, District of Columbia), As (re)Spoken Lies Become Truths

Iris Posner (Silver Spring, Maryland), Freedom Bound

Iris Posner (Silver Spring, Maryland), Re-Education Camp (Zai Jiaoyu Ying)

Theodore Scarpino (Biglerville, Pennsylvania), Big Brother Is Watching

Ann Sharp (Shepherdstown, West Virginia), The Red Glove

Gregg Silvis (Newark, Delaware), Potential energy, released

Paul Sirofchuck (Ligonier, Pennsylvania), Embrace The View

Rhonda Smith (Keedysville, Maryland), Reaching for the Moon

Rhonda Smith (Keedysville, Maryland), Protection for Your Journey Home

Adrian Suggs (Gaithersburg, Maryland), Self Portrait

Robert Sullivan (Baltimore, Maryland), Daybreak, Baltimore: Fells Point

T. Owens Union (Fairfield, Pennsylvania), Quilt Series: Joseph

Cathy Wilkin (Harpers Ferry, West Virginia), Can You See Me?

Jenny Wilson (Morgantown, West Virginia), Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks

Beamie Young (Dickerson, Maryland), Etching

Douglas Zaruba (Hagerstown, Maryland), Untitled (Black Series #3)

Christine Zmuda (Potomac, Maryland), Sweet Child of Mine

Past Award Winners of the NJE

American Check by Dong Kyu Kim, 2019 First Prize Award Winner

“American Check” by Dong Kyu Kim, 2019 NJE First Prize Award Winner



“Core Sample” by Jacob Zimmerman, 2018 NJE First Prize Award Winner



“Sifting, Sifting” by Caroline Hatfield, 2017 NJE First Prize Award Winner



“Here It Lies” by Nick Hutchings, 2016 NJE First Prize Award Winner


Support free, visual arts exhibitions in our community! 
The Art of Giving