National Juried Exhibit


The Delaplaine’s National Juried Exhibit is an annual show featuring works by artists from around the region and nation. Thank you to this year’s artists who submitted more than 600 works of art for consideration.

NJE  juror Sandy Guttman is the Curatorial Assistant at the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, DC, where she has supported projects including Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors and Yoko Ono: Four Works for Washington DC and the World. She co-founded the museum’s Accessibility Task Force, and is a founding editor of the arts and culture magazine, FWD: Museums.


Winners 2019 NJE


American Check by Dong Kyu Kim, 2019 First Prize Award Winner

“American Check” by Dong Kyu Kim, 2019 NJE First Prize Award Winner


"Self" by Thomas Bond, 2019 Second Prize Award Winner

“Self” by Thomas Bond, 2019 NJE Second Prize Award Winner


"Sun" by Mila Shelehoff, 2019 Third Prize Award Winner

“Sun” by Mila Shelehoff, 2019 NJE Third Prize Award Winner


"Diver In The Desert" by John Keatley, 2019 Honorable Mention Recipient

“Diver In The Desert” by John Keatley, 2019 NJE Honorable Mention Recipient


"Start of Something Different" by Michael Villarreal, 2019 Honorable Mention Recipient

“Start of Something Different” by Michael Villarreal, 2019 NJE Honorable Mention Recipient


List of Accepted Works for the 2019 NJE

Jennifer Babcock (Alexandria, Virginia), “Namesake”

Ken Bachman (Bethesda, Maryland), “The Barn”

Sulzhan Bali (Washington, District of Columbia), “Temple of Matrimony”

Carmen Barros Howell (Purcellville, Virginia), “Ancestor”

Caroline Battle (Baltimore, Maryland), “Trophy 2”

Bobbi Baugh (DeLand, Florida), “So It Will Not Break in Two”

Ken Beidler (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania), “Bulbs a la Flavin”

Leslie Blackmon (Washington, District of Columbia), “Grandmother’s Back Yard”

Thomas Bond (Bear, Delaware), “Self”

Thomas Bond (Bear, Delaware), “UNDFTD”

Marisa Boyd (West Chester, Pennsylvania), “Not Every Egg Needs to Hatch”

Andy Clark (Baltimore, Maryland), “Electric Field”

Katie Delaney (Silver Spring, Maryland), “My Sisters and Me”

Ningxi Deng (Norwich, Connecticut), “Waves of Transparency”

Kate Fitzpatrick (Alexandria, Virginia), “Canopy”

Andrew Flanders (Baltimore, Maryland), “Bramble”

Karen Fry (Huntington, West Virginia), “The Sun Will Rise Again”

Joshua Gervais (Keymar, Maryland), “Reservoir”

Katie Giganti (Mt. Airy, Maryland), “Evening of June 14th 1989”

Ilene Gold (Baltimore, Maryland), “Flower Market”

Katherine Hanley (Pleasant Ridge, Michigan), “Jazzmic Blaze”

Martin Heavner (Ijamsville, Maryland), “Exxon Blues”

Kevin Hluch (Frederick, Maryland), “Sentinel No. 2”

Michael Holt (Washington, District of Columbia), “Rise Up”

Aicy Karbstein (Leonardtown, Maryland), “Old Town Alexandria in December”

Alex Kasten (Bethesda, Maryland), “Onda II”

Eric Katzman (Portsmouth, New Hampshire), “Untitled”

John Keatley (Seattle, Washington), “Diver in The Desert”

Tracy Kerdman (New York, New York), “Butterface”

Dong Kyu Kim (Fort Lee, New Jersey), “American_Check”

Kim Klabe (Rehoboth, Delaware), “Milk in the Batter”

Susan Loonsk (Shepherdstown, West Virginia), “Owl and Sky 3”

Stephen March (Spring Grove, Pennsylvania), “Surveillance (10/04/2011)”

Corinne McAuley (Surprise, Arizona), “Black Swan”

Michael A. McCullough (Biglerville, Pennsylvania), “Abstract #103”

Robbie McKenzie (Bethesda, Maryland), “Adult Swim”

Susan McNichol (Frederick Maryland), “Bowling with My Bird”

Noha Nayel (Hagerstown, Maryland), “Bars”

Kortney Niewierski (Kent, Ohio), “Don’t Worry, We Will Both Find Out, But Not Together”

Irene Pantelis (Chevy Chase, Maryland), “Ink Blot”

Calvin Edward Ramsburg (Frederick, Maryland), “Yellow Monster”

Laura Robinson (Bethesda, Maryland), “Rehoboth”

Ann Sharp (Shepherdstown, West Virginia), “My truck”

Mila Shelehoff (Cabin John, Maryland), “Sun”

Lukian Shelehoff-Zirbes (Cabin John, Maryland), “The Treasure Garden”

Gregg Silvis (Newark, Delaware), “Great Expectations: unscrolled”

Rhonda Smith (Keedysville, Maryland), “Dreaming of Safe Journeys Home”

B. Berne Smith (Orange, Virginia), “Trophy Hunter”

Mary Smith-Luther (Eldersburg, Maryland), “Icy Patapsco”

Michael Spears (Laurel, Maryland), “Bring in The Beat”

Paula Stern (Washington, District of Columbia), “Attitude – Female”

Diana Suttenfield (Shepherdstown, West Virginia), “Matisse’s Pajamas Conversation Unfinished-Guns”

Michael Hunter Thompson (Cumberland, Maryland), “Koolwink”

Michael Villarreal (Lincoln, Nebraska), “Start of Something Different”

Bill Watson (New Market, Maryland), “Bouquet 1”

Bill Watson (New Market, Maryland), “Balmer 77”

Patricia Whittle (Leesburg, Virginia), “10th Ave, NYC”

Jenny Wu (Washington, District of Columbia), “Stock Market hits all time high!”

Monica Youn (Bel Air, Maryland), “Hatchlings”

Cate Zahl (Charlottesville, Virginia), “Jim (Head Study)”

Christine Zmuda (Potomac, Maryland), “Dive In the World Is Waiting”


Past Award Winners of the NJE


“Core Sample” by Jacob Zimmerman, 2018 NJE First Prize Award Winner



“Sifting, Sifting” by Caroline Hatfield, 2017 NJE First Prize Award Winner



“Here It Lies” by Nick Hutchings, 2016 NJE First Prize Award Winner


Support free, visual arts exhibitions in our community! 
The Art of Giving